Home of the Louisiana Derby

Zardana Named Horse of the Meet; Bridgmohan, Asmussen, Heiligbrodt Win Titles

Arnold Zetcher’s Zardana, the 6-year-old mare who shipped in to defeat reigning Horse of the Year Rachel Alexandra in the $200,000 New Orleans Ladies, was named Horse of the Meet at Fair Grounds Race Course & Slots’ 2009-2010 Thoroughbred Racing Season Presented by Miller Lite by a vote of media and racing officials following Sunday’s Closing Day program.

Jockey Shaun Bridgmohan, trainer Steve Asmussen and owners Heiligbrodt Racing Stable—who combined to win the meet’s final stakes race with Hisse in the $60,000 Red Camelia—took home awards as the season’s leading horsemen in their respective categories.

Bridgmohan earned his first Fair Grounds Leading Jockey title with 79 wins, seven more than runner-up James Graham at 72.

Asmussen won his ninth Leading Trainer title, tying him with Tom Amoss for the all-time lead. Asmussen’s 69 wins left him 28 ahead of Bret Calhoun in second place with 41 trips to the winner’s circle.

The Heiligbrodt Racing Stable of Houston residents Bill & Corrine Heiligbrodt clinched their third Fair Grounds Leading Owner title on Closing Day, fishing two wins in front of Southern Equine Stables (Michael Moreno), 22 to 20.

2009-2010 Thoroughbred Racing Season Honors

Horse of the Meet and Older Female of the Meet: Arnold Zetcher’s Zardana

Leading Jockey: Shaun Bridgmohan

Leading Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Leading Owner: Heiligbrodt Racing Stable (Bill & Corrine Heiligbrodt)

Older Horse of the Meet: Overbrook Farm’s Battle Plan

Turf Horse of the Meet: Anstu Stables’ Blues Street

Turf Female of the Meet: Darley Stable’s Tizaqueena

Sprinter of the Meet: Richard, Bertram & Elaine Klein’s Cash Refund

Three-Year-Old Male of the Meet: Twin Creeks Racing Stable’s Mission Impazible

Three-Year-Old Filly of the Meet: Mark Stanley’s Quiet Temper

Older Louisiana-bred of the Meet: Brittlyn Stable’s Star Guitar

Three-Year-Old Louisiana-bred of the Meet: Dan Lynch, Ken Sentel and Merrill Scherer’s Red Rally

Claimer of the Meet: Carl R. Moore’s King of Speed